The Best Dumbbell Racks for a Home Gym: 5 Picks Compared
The 5 best dumbbell racks and stands for a home gym, compared on pairs held, total and per-shelf capacity, footprint, and shelf design.
The best dumbbell rack for a home gym is the one that holds every pair you own, plus the next few you plan to buy, without eating the floor you need for lifting. For most garage and basement gyms, the top pick here is the CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack: three shelves of 51 in each, according to the Amazon listing, and a 1,000 lb weight capacity per CAP. If your space is a bedroom corner or a closet, a smaller rack or a stand may make more sense.
We do not show prices, because they change often. We compared five racks and stands from four brands on the details that decide whether storage works: how many pairs and which weights each one holds, total and per-shelf capacity, footprint and height, shelf design, and what each maker says about setup and the floor underneath.
This guide is general product information, not safety or fitness advice. Follow the assembly steps and weight limits in your rack’s manual, and keep children and pets away from it, as CAP’s RK-24D owner’s manual advises.
We earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. Commissions never affect our rankings or StrengthRoomLab Scores.
Best Dumbbell Rack for Home Gym: Top Picks
- Best Overall: CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack. Three shelves of 51 in each per the listing, the longest shelves here, and a 1,000 lb capacity per CAP.
- Best Compact Rack: CAP 24-Inch 2-Tier Dumbbell Rack. At 28.74 x 16.14 in per CAP’s manual, the smallest published footprint of the four racks.
- Best Adjustable-Tier Rack: Amazon Basics 3-Tier Adjustable Dumbbell Rack. The only rack here with customizable tier spacing, according to the listing.
- Best Single-Stand Option: Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Stand. The only single-stand listing here, rated for up to 160 lb per the listing.
- Best Rack with Lipped Shelves: REP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack. The only maker here that states a shelf lip, 1 in on 11-gauge steel shelves.
Dumbbell Racks Compared
Figures come from each Amazon listing unless the maker’s page or manual is named. When a maker and a listing disagree, the table uses the maker’s figure; when the sources cannot be reconciled, the cell says “Not confirmed.” Swipe sideways on a phone to see every column.
| Rack | Type | Holds | Listed capacity | Size (W x D x H) | Frame weight | Shelves |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack | 3-tier rack | 5 to 50 lb pairs on the option in the spec table; other sizes on the same listing | 1,000 lb (CAP) | 51.57 x 25.6 x 37.4 in | Not confirmed (listing says 45 and 50 lb) | 3 shelves, 51 in each; lower 2 angled |
| CAP 24-Inch 2-Tier Dumbbell Rack | 2-tier rack | 5 to 25 lb pairs of hex dumbbells | 200 lb total, 100 lb per shelf (CAP manual) | 28.74 x 16.14 x 22.83 in (CAP manual) | 20.36 lb (CAP manual) | Flat top shelf, angled lower shelf (CAP) |
| Amazon Basics 3-Tier Adjustable Dumbbell Rack | 3-tier rack | Not stated | 1,000 lb | 37.2 x 19.09 x 31.1 in | 18.46 kg (about 40.7 lb) | 3 tiers, customizable spacing |
| Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Stand | Dumbbell stand (listing) | Not stated; the listing does not say how many pairs | 160 lb | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Large base with a strap; adjustable size and height |
| REP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack | 3-tier rack | 5 to 50 lb rubber hex set (REP) | 800 lb (listing only) | 48 x 24 x 36 in (REP) | 75 lb (REP) | 3 angled shelves (listing); 42.5 in usable, 1 in lip (REP) |
The cards below add who each rack suits, what its listing or maker highlights, and when a different pick makes more sense.
Our ranking reflects our overall assessment of specifications, maker information, and owner reviews. The StrengthRoomLab Score is a separate measure based on Amazon customer ratings with a limited editorial adjustment, and it does not set the order.
| Award | Product | StrengthRoomLab Score About StrengthRoomLab ScoreThe StrengthRoomLab Score is our own rating out of 10. It starts from the average Amazon customer rating, may be adjusted by the editor by up to 0.5 points, and is never influenced by brands, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more › | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best Overall |
CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack
|
8.4/10 | Buy |
| Best Compact Rack |
CAP 24-Inch 2-Tier Dumbbell Rack
|
8.4/10 | Buy |
| Best Adjustable-Tier Rack |
Amazon Basics 3-Tier Adjustable Dumbbell Rack
|
8.6/10 | Buy |
| Best Single-Stand Option |
Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Stand
|
8.6/10 | Buy |
| Best Rack with Lipped Shelves |
REP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack
|
8.4/10 | Buy |
CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack
A full-length rack for a garage or basement gym that keeps a growing set of hex dumbbells on three shelves. CAP describes it as a 51 in wide stadium-style rack with a 1,000 lb weight capacity. According to the Amazon listing, each shelf offers 51 in of storage, the two lower shelves are angled, and the frame measures 51.57 x 25.6 x 37.4 in. The same listing page also sells 2-tier and other capacity versions, so confirm the selected option before you order. Look elsewhere if you have less than about 52 in of wall to give it or own only a few pairs.
Pros
- 1,000 lb weight capacity per CAP
- Three 51 in shelves per the listing
- Angled lower shelves for easier reach per the listing
Cons
- Several sizes are sold on one listing page
- Needs about 52 x 26 in of floor per the listing
CAP 24-Inch 2-Tier Dumbbell Rack
A small rack for an apartment, bedroom, or closet corner that holds light hex dumbbells. CAP's owner's manual lists it at 28.74 x 16.14 x 22.83 in and 20.36 lb, with a maximum of 100 lb per shelf and 200 lb in total. CAP describes a flat top shelf and an angled lower shelf, and the Amazon listing says it holds 5 to 25 lb pairs of hex dumbbells. Look elsewhere if your pairs go past 25 lb each or your set adds up to more than 200 lb.
Pros
- 28.74 x 16.14 in footprint per CAP's manual
- 20.36 lb frame per CAP's manual
- Angled lower shelf for easier reach per CAP
Cons
- 200 lb total capacity per CAP's manual
- Listing gives conflicting capacity figures
Amazon Basics 3-Tier Adjustable Dumbbell Rack
A mid-size rack for a spare room or garage where the mix of dumbbells may change over time. According to the Amazon listing, the three tiers have customizable spacing for different dumbbell sizes and shapes, the steel frame holds up to 1,000 lb, and end caps on the feet protect floors. The listing gives dimensions of 37.2 x 19.09 x 31.1 in and an item weight of 18.46 kg (about 40.7 lb), and notes that it is sold as a stand only. Look elsewhere if you want the maker to state which dumbbell weights fit each tier.
Pros
- Adjustable tier spacing per the listing
- 1,000 lb weight capacity per the listing
- Floor-protecting end caps per the listing
Cons
- No dumbbell weight range stated in the listing
- No warranty term stated in the listing
Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Stand
A dumbbell stand for lifters who want a single piece of storage rather than a tiered rack. According to the Amazon listing, it has a 160 lb capacity, a large base that is compatible with a wide range of dumbbell series, and a built-in strap that wraps around the handle to keep dumbbells from rolling or falling off. The listing describes the stand as adjustable in size and height and states a 1-year warranty, but it gives no dimensions and does not say how many pairs it holds. Look elsewhere if you need storage for several fixed pairs or want measurements before you buy.
Pros
- 160 lb capacity per the listing
- Strap secures the handles per the listing
- Adjustable size and height per the listing
Cons
- Listing does not say how many pairs it holds
- No dimensions stated in the listing
REP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack
A heavy-duty rack sized for a full 5 to 50 lb rubber hex set in a garage or basement gym. REP lists it at 36 in high, 48 in long, and 24 in deep with a 75 lb frame, and says its 11-gauge steel shelves have a 1 in lip and 42.5 in of usable length. REP also notes that a 3-tier rack takes less floor space than a 2-tier rack while giving the same utility. The Amazon listing gives an 800 lb weight capacity, a figure REP's page does not state. Look elsewhere if your dumbbells are not rubber hex and you have not measured them against REP's shelf dimensions.
Pros
- Shelves with a 1 in lip per REP
- Sized for a 5 to 50 lb rubber hex set per REP
- 11-gauge steel shelves per REP
Cons
- 75 lb frame per REP
- Capacity is stated only in the listing
How We Chose These Dumbbell Racks
These picks come from research, not from loading the racks ourselves. We searched Amazon for dumbbell racks, dumbbell storage racks, and dumbbell stands, plus brand searches for CAP and Marcy, then kept racks and stands sold new. CAP is the only brand with two spots.
This guide covers storage only. We set aside a listing that sells neoprene dumbbell sets with a small plastic holder, because the listing is built around the dumbbells rather than the rack, and set aside racks from other brands. Every pick is a rack or stand sold without weights.
Each full listing, including its specification table, was then compared with the maker’s documents where they exist: CAP’s product pages for the 51 in rack and the 24 in rack, the RK-24D owner’s manual, and REP’s dumbbell rack page. CAP’s 24 in product page gives assembled dimensions that do not match its own manual, so the table uses the manual, which matches the listing. Amazon Basics is Amazon’s own brand, so its listing is the maker’s page. Yes4All’s website does not carry a product page for this stand, so its figures come from the listing alone.
The top pick had to be a rack that stores a full set of fixed dumbbells, with a capacity stated by its maker. Every other label rests on a figure or feature in the table. The StrengthRoomLab Score on each card is calculated from owner ratings with the published method on the How We Review page; it is shown for reference and did not decide the order.
How to Choose a Dumbbell Rack for Your Home Gym
Start with the dumbbells, not the rack. A rack that looks large in photos can still be too short for your heaviest pairs, and a rack with a high capacity figure can still be the wrong size for the corner you have. These checks cover the common mistakes.
Count your pairs and measure the heaviest one
Shelf length decides how many pairs fit, and dumbbell length grows with weight. REP gives the most detail here: 42.5 in of usable shelf length, 4.5 in of space where your hand grabs the handle, and 10 in of resting space for the dumbbells. REP also tells buyers who are not using its own 5 to 50 lb rubber hex set to measure their dumbbells first. CAP’s 3-tier listing sells versions for different weight ranges, and the 24 in rack is listed for 5 to 25 lb pairs. Lay your heaviest pair on the floor, measure head to head and the head diameter, and compare those numbers with the shelf you are considering.
Add up your set and check the per-shelf limit
A set of pairs from 5 to 50 lb in 5 lb steps weighs 550 lb in total. That fits under the 1,000 lb figures for the CAP 3-tier and Amazon Basics racks and the 800 lb figure in the REP listing, with room to add pairs. Smaller racks need more care. CAP’s manual limits the 24 in rack to 100 lb per shelf and 200 lb in total, so a 5 to 25 lb set (150 lb) fits only if you split it, for example the 20 and 25 lb pairs (90 lb) on one shelf and the 5, 10, and 15 lb pairs (60 lb) on the other. Most listings give only a total, so spread the heaviest pairs across shelves rather than stacking them on one.
Fit the footprint to the room
The four racks take very different amounts of floor. The CAP 3-tier covers about 9.2 sq ft (51.57 x 25.6 in) and the REP 8 sq ft (48 x 24 in), sizes that suit a garage wall or a basement gym. The Amazon Basics rack covers about 4.9 sq ft (37.2 x 19.09 in), and the CAP 24 in rack about 3.2 sq ft (28.74 x 16.14 in), small enough for a bedroom corner or the floor of a wide closet. REP notes that a 3-tier rack takes less floor space than a 2-tier rack with the same utility. Depth matters as much as width in a hallway or beside a bench, since you need room to stand in front of the rack and lift a pair out.
Look at the shelf design
Several of these racks use angled shelves; the CAP and REP listings describe them as making loading and unloading easier. The CAP 3-tier listing angles the two lower shelves, CAP angles the lower shelf of its 24 in rack, and the REP listing describes angled shelves. REP adds a 1 in lip to each shelf, which it says secures the dumbbells. The Amazon Basics rack takes a different approach: according to the listing, you can change the spacing between tiers to suit different dumbbell sizes and shapes, which helps if your collection mixes dumbbell sizes and shapes.
Plan the floor and the setup
CAP’s manual asks you to place the rack on a clean, level surface indoors, away from moisture and water, and to inspect and tighten all parts regularly. The CAP 3-tier listing adds an assembly tip: leave the bolts loose until the rack is fully assembled and standing on a flat, level surface, or the rack may feel unbalanced. REP suggests a rubber equipment mat, 3 x 4 ft, under its rack to protect the floor. In a garage with a sloped slab, check the spot with a level before you tighten anything.
Consider a stand instead of a tiered rack
If you own one pair of adjustable dumbbells, a multi-tier rack built for rows of fixed pairs is more frame than you need. According to the listing, the Yes4All stand is adjustable in size and height, has a large base for a wide range of dumbbell series, and includes a strap that wraps around the handles. The listing does not say how many pairs it holds or give dimensions, so check both before you order.
Who Should Look Elsewhere
- You have not bought your dumbbells yet. Choose the weights first, since the rack has to match their length and total weight. Shoppers still comparing the best dumbbell set for their space can size the rack once the pairs are chosen.
- Your heaviest pairs go past 50 lb. The racks here with a stated range top out at 50 lb pairs (the CAP 3-tier option in the spec table and the REP) or 25 lb pairs (the CAP 24 in). The CAP 3-tier listing page also sells a version for 5 to 75 lb pairs, per its title; confirm the option before you order.
- You only need to store one or two light pairs. A full rack is more frame than you need. The CAP 24 in rack or a shelf may be enough.
- You want a rack that moves around the room. None of these listings or maker pages mentions wheels, and the REP frame alone is 75 lb.
- Your gym is outdoors or in a damp space. CAP’s manual says to keep its rack indoors, away from moisture and water.
FAQ
What is the best dumbbell rack for a home gym?
For a full set of fixed dumbbells, the CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack is the top pick here: three 51 in shelves per the listing and a 1,000 lb capacity per CAP. For a small room, the CAP 24 in rack has the smallest published footprint, 28.74 x 16.14 in. If you want a stand rather than a tiered rack, the Yes4All listing describes a stand with a 160 lb capacity and a strap that wraps around the handles.
Is a 2-tier or 3-tier dumbbell rack better?
For the same number of pairs, a 3-tier rack usually saves floor. REP says its 3-tier rack takes less floor space than a 2-tier rack while giving the same utility. A 2-tier rack can still be the better fit when the set is small, like the CAP 24 in rack for 5 to 25 lb pairs, or when a low rack has to sit under a window or a wall-mounted shelf.
How do you know your dumbbells will fit a rack?
Compare three numbers: the length of your heaviest pair, the diameter of its heads, and the shelf length of the rack. REP publishes the most complete set (42.5 in usable shelf, 4.5 in handle space, 10 in resting space) and asks buyers to measure dumbbells that are not from its own 5 to 50 lb rubber hex set. If a listing gives only a weight range, treat it as a guide for that brand’s dumbbells and measure yours.
How much weight can each shelf of a dumbbell rack hold?
Only one maker here gives a per-shelf figure: CAP’s manual rates the 24 in rack at 100 lb per shelf and 200 lb in total. The other racks list a total only (1,000 lb for the CAP 3-tier and Amazon Basics, 800 lb in the REP listing). When no shelf limit is published, spread the heaviest pairs across the shelves and stay well under the total.
Can you store kettlebells on a dumbbell rack?
None of the listings or maker pages for these five mentions kettlebells, and their capacity and shelf figures are written for dumbbells. Until a maker says otherwise, keep kettlebells on the floor or a mat beside the rack, or use storage made for them.
What should go under a dumbbell rack?
A level, dry surface first: CAP’s manual asks for a clean, level surface indoors and away from moisture. REP suggests a 3 x 4 ft rubber equipment mat under its rack to protect the floor.
Final Thoughts
- Best Overall: CAP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack. Three 51 in shelves per the listing and 1,000 lb per CAP.
- Best Compact Rack: CAP 24-Inch 2-Tier Dumbbell Rack. 28.74 x 16.14 in per CAP’s manual.
- Best Adjustable-Tier Rack: Amazon Basics 3-Tier Adjustable Dumbbell Rack. Customizable tier spacing per the listing.
- Best Single-Stand Option: Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Stand. A stand rated for up to 160 lb, with a handle strap, per the listing.
- Best Rack with Lipped Shelves: REP 3-Tier Dumbbell Rack. 1 in shelf lips and 42.5 in of usable shelf per REP.
A dumbbell rack works when it fits three things at once: the length of your pairs, the total weight of your set, and the corner you can give it. Measure the heaviest pair, add up the set, check any per-shelf limit, and leave room to stand in front of the rack. Then match the shelf design to your dumbbells. For more on choosing and storing weights, browse the dumbbells section.
