As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more›

Walking Pad vs Treadmill: Which Is Better for a Home Gym?

Walking pad vs treadmill, compared on footprint, storage, speed, belt size, handrails, incline, and outlet needs, using two real machines as examples.

Walking Pad vs Treadmill

In the walking pad vs treadmill decision, a walking pad is the better fit if you mainly want to walk at an easy pace under a standing desk and store the machine out of sight, while a treadmill is the better fit if you want to jog or run, prefer a handrail and console, and can give it a permanent spot. The gap is bigger than the names suggest: the treadmill in this comparison takes up about twice the floor area of the walking pad, has a belt about 14 in longer, and reaches 10 mph where the walking pad stops at 4 mph.

To keep the comparison concrete, we set two real machines side by side: the UREVO CyberPad for Office as the walking pad and the Sunny Health & Fitness Fully Assembled Auto Incline Treadmill as the treadmill. Both come from brands we have vetted and both are sold new on Amazon in the US. Every figure below comes from the maker’s product page or user manual, or from the Amazon listing when the maker does not give one, and we say which. The same questions apply to any treadmill vs walking pad choice, so you can use them to judge other models too.

This guide is general product information, not medical or fitness advice. If you have pain, an injury, or a health condition, talk to a qualified healthcare professional before starting a new exercise routine.

We earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. Commissions never affect our rankings or StrengthRoomLab Scores.

This page is general product information, not repair or electrical safety advice. Follow the safety instructions in your product’s manual, supervise children, and contact the manufacturer or an authorized service center if a product sparks, overheats, or has a damaged cord.

UREVO CyberPad for Office

UREVO CyberPad for Office

Treadmills
UREVO
amazon.com
StrengthRoomLab Score About StrengthRoomLab ScoreThe StrengthRoomLab Score is our own rating out of 10. It starts from the average Amazon customer rating, may be adjusted by the editor by up to 0.5 points, and is never influenced by brands, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›
8.1 /10
Good

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Sunny Fully Assembled Auto Incline Treadmill

Sunny Fully Assembled Auto Incline Treadmill

Treadmills
SunnyHealthFitness
amazon.com
StrengthRoomLab Score About StrengthRoomLab ScoreThe StrengthRoomLab Score is our own rating out of 10. It starts from the average Amazon customer rating, may be adjusted by the editor by up to 0.5 points, and is never influenced by brands, retailers, or affiliate commissions. Learn more ›
8.2 /10
Good

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Walking Pad vs Treadmill: Side-by-Side Specs

The source is noted in each cell. “Footprint” is the overall size of the machine set up for use. Where the listing and the maker disagree, the table uses the maker’s figure and notes the listing’s.

SpecUREVO CyberPad for Office (walking pad)Sunny Fully Assembled Auto Incline Treadmill (treadmill)
Max user weight300 lb (UREVO US user guide); UREVO’s product page says 400 lb, the listing 242 lb300 lb (Sunny product page and manual)
Speed range0.6 to 4.0 mph (UREVO)0.6 to 10 mph (Sunny)
Incline0 to 14%, auto (UREVO)15 auto levels, up to 15% (Sunny and listing)
Motor2.5 HP brushless (UREVO)2.5 peak HP brushless (Sunny)
Walking or running surface39.4 x 16.5 in (UREVO)53.1 x 20.1 in (Sunny)
Footprint42.9 x 22.8 x 6.3 in (UREVO)63.8 x 30.9 x 45.7 in (Sunny); the listing gives 44.1 in tall
StorageNo fold listed by UREVO; 6.3 in tall, slides flat under furniture (UREVO); the listing’s spec table gives a folded size of 46.8 x 19.3 x 4.8 inUprights fold down onto the deck (Sunny manual); 11.4 in tall folded (listing); store flat, not upright (Sunny)
Machine weight63.1 lb (UREVO)59.1 kg, about 130 lb (listing)
Handrail and displayNo handrail; handheld remote with its own display (UREVO US user guide)Handlebar with LED display, quick speed and incline buttons, and pulse sensors (listing); folds down for storage (Sunny manual)
Clearance in the manual1.2 m side to side and 2 m front to back (UREVO US user guide)At least 8 ft behind and 2 ft on each side (Sunny manual)
Power in the manualGrounded outlet; voltage not stated in the US guide15 amps on a nominal 100 to 120V circuit, grounded plug (Sunny manual)
WarrantyUREVO’s product page and US guide give different terms; confirm at purchase3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts (listing)

One listing quirk worth knowing: the spec table on the Sunny listing shows a “deck” of 63.8 x 30.9 in. Those numbers match the treadmill’s overall footprint, not its belt. The listing’s own bullets and Sunny’s product page give a running surface of about 53 x 20 in.

Size, Footprint, and Storage

This is the biggest practical difference between the two. The CyberPad for Office measures 42.9 x 22.8 in and stands 6.3 in tall, per UREVO’s product page. The Sunny treadmill measures 63.8 x 30.9 in with its handlebar raised to 45.7 in, per Sunny. In floor area, that is roughly 6.8 sq ft for the walking pad and 13.7 sq ft for the treadmill.

The clearance each maker asks for widens the gap. UREVO’s US user guide for the CyberPad for Office asks for 1.2 m (about 4 ft) side to side and 2 m (about 6.5 ft) front to back. Sunny’s user manual for this treadmill asks for at least 8 ft of free space behind it and 2 ft on each side. Add those to the Sunny’s footprint and you are planning for a zone a little over 13 ft long and about 6.5 ft wide. Measure your spare bedroom, garage, or living room against that zone before you order.

Storage works differently too. UREVO’s product page does not mention folding the CyberPad, while its Amazon listing gives a folded size of 46.8 x 19.3 x 4.8 in in its spec table without describing how it folds. Either way, at 6.3 in tall per UREVO it can slide under a sofa or bed with enough clearance, or sit flat against a wall. The Sunny folds: its manual says to set the incline to flat, turn off the power, release the uprights, and lay them down onto the deck. The listing gives a folded height of 11.4 in. Sunny’s product page says to store it lying flat, slid under furniture or into a compact space, and not to stand it upright because it has no stability bumpers. Folding shortens the height, not the length, so you still need a spot about 64 in long. Weight matters every time you move either one: the pad is 63.1 lb per UREVO, while the treadmill is 59.1 kg, about 130 lb, per the listing, roughly twice as heavy. Sunny’s page says it has transport wheels for rolling it into place.

Speed: Walking Only or Walking and Running

The CyberPad for Office runs from 0.6 to 4.0 mph per UREVO. The Sunny runs from 0.6 to 10 mph per Sunny. Both cover ordinary walking. The CDC lists walking briskly, at 2.5 miles per hour or faster, as an example of moderate-intensity activity, and both machines reach that pace with room to spare.

Above 4 mph, only the treadmill keeps going. If you want to jog or run at home, even occasionally, a walking-only pad like the CyberPad is the wrong tool. Some walking pads add a handrail and a faster mode (WalkingPad lists its R2 at up to 7.5 mph, for example), but whether you can run on a walking pad depends entirely on the model, and the maker’s instructions for running mode are the place to check. If running is a regular part of your plan, a treadmill built for it, with a longer belt and a handlebar, is the simpler choice.

Desk walking raises a different question: how long the machine is meant to run. Sunny’s manual suggests powering the treadmill off for 10 minutes every hour to prolong its life. UREVO’s printed US guide for the CyberPad does not give a run-time figure and refers owners to a detailed manual in the UREVO app. If you plan to walk for hours through a workday, read the full manual for any model you are considering and follow its guidance on rest periods.

Belt Size, Handrails, and Controls

The Sunny’s running surface is 53.1 x 20.1 in per Sunny, against 39.4 x 16.5 in for the CyberPad per UREVO. That is about 14 in more length and about 3.5 in more width. A longer belt gives you more room before your heel reaches the back edge, which matters for tall walkers, for anyone with a long stride, and for running, where your stride lengthens. A wider belt leaves more margin if you drift to one side while reading a screen.

The treadmill also has something to hold. According to the Amazon listing, the Sunny has a handlebar with an LED display, quick buttons for speed and incline, pulse sensors, 24 preset programs, cup holders, a device holder, and a USB charging port. The CyberPad has no handrail. UREVO’s US guide shows a handheld remote that displays time, distance, steps, speed, and incline, and the pad also pairs with the UREVO app per the listing. UREVO’s product page offers a separate walking pad handrail as an add-on. If you need support for balance, or you like seeing your numbers at eye level, the treadmill format suits you better.

Both list a 300 lb maximum user weight in their manuals. The CyberPad’s figures disagree across sources: UREVO’s product page says 400 lb, its US user guide says 300 lb and not to exceed it, and the Amazon listing says 242 lb. Plan around the lowest figure that applies to you. For the Sunny, Sunny’s product page, its manual, and the listing’s bullets all say 300 lb.

Incline

Incline is not what separates these two categories. Some walking pads are flat, but the CyberPad lists auto incline from 0 to 14% per UREVO, and the Sunny lists 15 auto incline levels up to 15% per Sunny and the listing. On both, a motor changes the angle. Sunny’s product page gives the low end of its range as 1.8% in its spec table and as 0% in its description, so we list only the top figure.

Where incline differs is in how it fits the room. Raising the front of a walking pad under a standing desk lifts you a little closer to the desk, so set the desk height with the pad at the incline you use most. On the treadmill, incline changes nothing about the desk question, because a full treadmill does not fit under a desk at all. If you want a walking pad with incline for desk use, compare the maker’s incline figure rather than the listing’s, since some walking pad listings overstate it.

Outlet, Power, and Electrical Safety

Both machines plug into a household outlet, and both manuals say to use a properly grounded outlet and not to modify the plug. Sunny’s manual is more specific. It says the treadmill needs a 15 amp power source on a nominal 100 to 120V circuit and has a grounding plug, and it says not to use an adaptor, not to run it from a generator or UPS, and not to plug it into a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) wall outlet. Those instructions affect where a treadmill can go: a bathroom, kitchen, or garage outlet may be GFCI-protected. If your outlet does not match what the manual describes, the manual says to have a qualified electrician install a proper outlet, not to work around it.

UREVO’s printed US guide for the CyberPad covers grounding and tells owners to unplug the pad when it is not in use, but it does not state a voltage or amperage. Neither Amazon listing states a voltage; the Sunny listing gives 1200 watts of input power. Check the label and the full manual for your unit before you choose an outlet.

Both manuals warn to keep children under 13 away from the machine. Sunny’s manual also says to clip the safety key to your clothing while you walk or run and to remove the key when the treadmill is not in use and store it out of children’s reach. When we checked the CPSC’s downloadable recall list for this comparison, it showed no recalls under UREVO or Sunny Health & Fitness. Recalls can be added at any time, so search it for your model before setup.

Noise, Floors, and Use Under a Desk

Both makers describe their brushless motors as quiet. Only UREVO publishes a decibel figure, and Sunny publishes none for this treadmill, so we have no fair basis to rank them on noise. Footfall adds to motor noise, and a running stride on a treadmill lands harder than an easy walk on a pad. If you live upstairs, plan to keep faster sessions to daytime hours whichever machine you buy, and use the mat or floor protection the maker recommends. Sunny’s manual calls for a solid, level surface with a protective cover on carpet or flooring.

For a standing desk, the walking pad wins outright. The CyberPad is a flat deck with nothing in front, so the desk can sit over the front of the pad and the remote can stay on the desktop. The Sunny’s uprights, handlebar, and console sit where a desk would go. You can walk on it while watching a screen on its device holder, but you cannot type at a desk over it. If an under desk walking pad is the whole point of your purchase, that settles it.

Which Should You Buy?

  • Buy a walking pad if you mainly walk while working, your room cannot spare a permanent 13 ft zone, and you want to slide the machine under furniture between sessions. The UREVO CyberPad for Office fits that use, with a 6.3 in profile and auto incline per UREVO.
  • Buy a treadmill if you want to jog or run, you are tall or have a long stride, you want a handlebar and console, or several people with different routines will share it. The Sunny Health & Fitness Fully Assembled Auto Incline Treadmill offers a 53.1 x 20.1 in running surface and speeds up to 10 mph per Sunny.
  • Look at a two-in-one walking pad if you mostly walk but want an occasional jog and still need to store the machine. Check the maker’s top speed with the handrail raised and the belt length before you order.
  • You should look elsewhere if your weight is close to 300 lb, since that is the highest figure in either manual; if you cannot keep young children and pets out of the room while the belt moves; or if the only outlet nearby is GFCI-protected and you have not confirmed what your model’s manual allows.

Why You Should Trust Us

We do not conduct our own product trials; our picks draw on published specifications, independent reviews, and Amazon owner ratings, which also set each product’s StrengthRoomLab Score. For this comparison we read both Amazon listings in full, then checked them against UREVO’s and Sunny’s product pages and the US user manuals each maker publishes. Where the sources disagree, we say so rather than pick the friendlier number. Commissions never affect which products we cover or how we score them. The full method is on our How We Review page.

FAQ

What’s the difference between a walking pad and a treadmill?

A walking pad is a low, compact motorized belt, usually without a fixed handrail or console, built for walking. A treadmill has a longer, wider deck, a handlebar and console, and higher top speeds for running. In this comparison, the walking pad tops out at 4.0 mph on a 39.4 in belt (UREVO), while the treadmill reaches 10 mph on a 53.1 in belt (Sunny).

Is a walking pad the same as a treadmill?

Technically, a walking pad is a type of treadmill, and Amazon files both under treadmills. In practice they are different purchases. A walking pad is made to slide under a desk or a sofa and is usually limited to walking speeds. A full treadmill needs a permanent spot with clear space behind it, and in exchange it supports jogging and running.

Can a walking pad replace a treadmill?

For walking, often yes. For running, usually no. A walking-only pad like the CyberPad for Office stops at 4.0 mph per UREVO, and its 39.4 in belt is short for a running stride. If you want both in one machine, look at a two-in-one model and confirm its top speed and belt length with the maker.

Is a walking pad or a treadmill better for a small apartment?

A walking pad, in most cases. The CyberPad takes about half the floor area of the Sunny treadmill and slides under furniture at 6.3 in tall. The Sunny’s manual asks for at least 8 ft of free space behind it, which many apartment rooms cannot spare. Footfall noise also tends to be lower at walking speeds than at running speeds.

What kind of outlet does a treadmill or walking pad need?

A properly grounded household outlet, per both manuals here. Sunny’s manual adds that its treadmill needs 15 amps on a nominal 100 to 120V circuit and should not be plugged into a GFCI outlet, an adaptor, a generator, or a UPS. Requirements vary by model, so read the electrical section of your manual before choosing a spot.

Final Verdict

Choose by how you will use it and where it will live. If your goal is steady walking during the workday in a room that has to stay a room, a walking pad like the UREVO CyberPad for Office is the practical choice. If you want to run, need a handlebar, or have a garage corner or spare room you can dedicate to it, a treadmill like the Sunny is worth the extra floor space. If you have settled on a pad, finding the best walking pad for your home comes down to belt length, the lowest published weight limit, and how it stores. Browse our walking pads category for more models we have researched.

About the author

Sean Freeman
Sean Freeman

Sean Freeman has maintained a home fitness routine for five years, combining daily walking, recreational running, and resistance band and mobility exercises. Over the past two years, Sean has researched and written about compact fitness equipment, focusing on storage, ease of use, and suitability for smaller living spaces. Sean covers walking pads, gym flooring, and resistance bands, helping readers build practical spaces for everyday exercise.